Scholars Strategy Network 2023 Chapter Leadership Awards

Director of Chapter Development

Now accepting nominations!

Chapters play a vital role in the Scholar Strategy Network’s mission to advance the use of research and evidence wherever key policy decisions are made—from local government to state legislatures to Washington.

Please join us in recognizing SSN’s extraordinary chapter leaders, the scholars who lead this collaborative work in state and local chapters across the United States. Members and chapter affiliates are invited to express their appreciation for the chapter leaders who have made a difference in their work as publicly engaged scholars by nominating an individual or submitting a short supporting testimonial for any of the three awards listed below.

David Brian Robertson Excellence in Leadership Award

For an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the development of the Scholars Strategy Network through outstanding chapter leadership.

The Excellence in Leadership Award honors the memory of David Brian Robertson, one of the Scholar Strategy Network’s original 50 members and co-founder of the Confluence chapter. A distinguished scholar of American politics, Dave Robertson was known to many as a beloved teacher, valued mentor, and a remarkably warm and kind human being. 

This award is open to all current and former chapter leaders. Multiple nominations and self-nominations are welcome! See the PDF below for a full list of chapter leaders.

The recipient selected for the Excellence in Leadership Award will receive a $1,000 award, plus an additional $1,000 to be awarded to their chapter budget for use in 2023-2024. 

Click here to nominate a chapter leader for this award.

Nomination deadline: May 31, 2023

Outstanding Chapter Award 2023

For a chapter leadership team that has demonstrated notable accomplishment this year through the collaborative engagement of its members in innovative chapter projects that advance the use of research to inform policy and strengthen democracy.

Two awards will be given in this category: an Outstanding Chapter Award for established chapters and an Emerging Chapter Award for chapters formed within the past four years.

This award is open to all current chapter leadership teams in 2022-2023, see the PDF below for a full list

Chapter members, affiliates, and community partners are encouraged to submit short supporting testimonials—a few sentences describing how the chapter leaders have advanced their collaborative work to bring research and evidence to public policy and public discussion.

Chapter co-leaders selected for this award will receive a prize of $500 each, plus $1,000 to be awarded to their chapter budget for use in 2023-24.

Click here to submit a supporting testimonial for this award. 

Submission deadline: May 31, 2023

Questions? Please contact Pamela Metz, Director of Chapter Development, at [email protected]

This browser does not support inline PDFs. Please download the PDF to view it: Download PDF